For more information contact the Jackson County Economic Development Board at 740.286.2838 or by email at


Emergency Management/Response
Emergency Management Agency/Planning CommissionRobert Czechlewski Director Phone (740)286-5630
Jackson County benefits from a fulltime Emergency Management Agency that works to keep Jackson County compliant with Ohio Emergency Management Agency requirements which includes maintaining the Jackson County Emergency Operations Plan, Terrorism Incident Annex, Hazard Analysis and Risk Assessment, and Hazard Mitigation Plan.

Jackson County benefits from a countywide 911 system via the Jackson County Sheriff’s Office, Jackson Police Department, and Wellston Police Department. In most cases, when you call 911 from a cellular phone within Jackson County, you will reach the Jackson County Sheriff's Office radio room by default. Some outlying areas of Jackson County send cell calls to the Ross County Sheriff's Office, Gallia County 911 or the Ohio State Highway Patrol.

Law Enforcement

Jackson County Sheriff’s Office – John Shasteen Phone (740)286-6464
Jackson Police DepartmentCarl A. Eisnaugle Chief of Police Phone (740)286-4131
Wellston Police DepartmentJohn D. Hall Chief of Police Phone (740)384-2171
Coalton Police Department - Lonnie Anderson Chief of Police Phone (740)286-6464
Oak Hill Police Department - Phillip Spence Chief of Police Phone (740)286-6464
Ohio State Highway Patrol Phone (740)286-4141

Fire Protection

Jackson Fire Department – Douglas A. Reed Chief Phone (740)286-2707
Wellston Fire Department – C. Thomas Helm Chief Phone (740)384-2128
Coalton Volunteer Fire Department - John Frisby Chief Phone (740)286-8834
Madison-Jefferson Volunteer Fire Department – Christopher S. Walls Chief Phone (740)682-7650
Bloomfield Township Volunteer Fire Department - Joseph Alcox Chief Phone (740)286-3538
Hamilton Township Volunteer Fire & Rescue - Gerald Fulkerson Chief Phone (740)286-7514
Liberty Township Fire Department - Bob D. Rice Chief Phone (740)288-3000
Scioto Township Fire Department - Aaron Lemaster Chief Phone (740)988-2861
Jefferson Township Volunteer Fire Rescue (Ross County) - Dennis M. Ramsey Chief

Emergency Medical Services
Southeast Ohio Emergency Medical Services (SEOMS) – SEOMS is a multijurisdictional emergency medical service made up of Jackson, Lawrence, and Athens counties. SEOMS operates three fulltime ambulance stations within Jackson County using the latest lifesaving equipment with professionally trained staff. Because of the strategic location of Jackson County’s SEOMS stations, residents can be transported by ambulance within 15 minutes to no less than three different regional emergency rooms in the tri-county area of Jackson, Ross, and Gallia counties.

MedFlight – MedFlight is a not-for-profit, air and ground critical care transportation company based in Columbus, Ohio that completes nearly 7,000 critical care transports by helicopter and mobile intensive care unit each year.
MedFlight is made possible by our consortium hospitals including Grant/Riverside Methodist Hospitals (OhioHealth), The Ohio State University Medical Center and Akron General Medical Center. MedFlight also has partnerships with Akron Children’s Hospital and Nationwide Children’s Hospital.

Although MedFlight is owned by a consortium of hospitals, it transports patients to the most appropriate facility. MedFlight transports scene patients to the closest appropriate trauma center. For other patients, the referring and receiving physician decide upon the most appropriate destination and mode of transport.
From its Jackson County base, MedFlight provides Jackson County residents with second to none care and can have patients the closest state of the art trauma center within 15 minutes of take off.

Regional Emergency Rooms

Holzer Medical Center – Jackson, Ohio
Holzer Medical Center – Gallipolis, Ohio
Adena Medical Center – Chillicothe, Ohio
Scioto Memorial Hospital – Portsmouth, Ohio
O’Bleness Memorial Hospital – Athens, Ohio
Pleasant Valley Hospital – Point Pleasant, West Virginia

Trauma Centers
Cabell Huntington Hospital – Huntington, West Virginia (Level 2 Trauma Center; Burn Unit)
Camden Clark Memorial Hospital – Parkersburg, West Virginia (Level 3 Trauma Center)
Grant Medical Center – Columbus, Ohio (Level 1 Trauma Center)
Marietta Memorial Hospital – Marietta, Ohio (Level 3 Trauma Center)
Mount Carmel West – Columbus, Ohio (Level 2 Trauma Center)
Nationwide Children’s Hospital – Columbus, Ohio (Level 1 Pediatric Trauma Center; Burn Unit)
The Ohio State University Medical Center – Columbus, Ohio (Level 1 Trauma Center; Burn Unit)
Ohio Valley Medical Center – Wheeling, West Virginia (Level 2 Trauma Center)
Pleasant Valley Hospital – Point Pleasant, West Virginia (Level 4 Trauma Center)
Riverside Methodist Hospital – Columbus, Ohio (Level 2 Trauma Center)
St. Joseph’s Hospital – Parkersburg, West Virginia (Level 3 Trauma Center)
St. Mary’s Hospital – Huntington, West Virginia (Level 2 Trauma Center)
Wheeling Hospital – Wheeling, West Virginia (Level 2 Trauma Center)